Skip to main content

Parent Advisory Committees

Parent Advisory Committees (PAC) are made up of volunteers from the local school community who meet monthly to discuss various issues and plan ways to support schools as they pursue individual goals, projects and initiatives. Numerous fundraising efforts and support for programs, events and activities are made possible through these school-based committees. At YK1, each PAC meeting is attended by a Trustee, who is assigned to act as the Board’s representative. Trustees attend monthly PAC meetings and report back to the Board on local activities and progress. YK1's Superintendent meets with PAC Chairpersons on at least an annual basis. 

Nearby community schools Kaw Tay Whee School and K’àlemì Dene School contract superintendency services from YK1.  

Kaw Tay Whee (KTW), which falls under the Dettah District Education Authority, and K’àlemì Dene School (KDS), which falls under the Ndilo District Education Authority, both have their own publicly-elected Board of Trustees with similar powers and responsibilities to YK1 Trustees.  Given this organizational structure, YK1 Trustees are not assigned to act as Board representatives at the TDS and KTW monthly meetings. 

Helpful link: How to Solve School Concerns

2023-2024 Board of Trustee PAC Representatives

École Įtłʼǫ̀Trustee Terry Brookes

École Sir John Franklin High School: Trustee Jason Snaggs

École William McDonald Middle School: Trustee Barbara Bell

N.J. Macpherson School: Trustee Allan Shortt

Range Lake North School: Trustee Tina Drew

Mildred Hall School: Trustee Michelle Peters

image description
Back to top